You are here

David H. Guston Arizona State University, USA

David H. Guston (B.A., Yale; Ph.D., MIT) is Principal Investigator and Director of the Center for Nanotechnology in Society at Arizona State University (CNS-ASU), as well as Associate Director of the Consortium for Science, Policy and Outcomes and Professor of Political Science. CNS-ASU is a Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center funded by the National Science Foundation and dedicated to studying the societal implications of nanoscale science and engineering research and improving the societal outcomes of nanotechnologies through enhancing the societal capacity to understand and make informed choices. Dr. Guston’s book, Between Politics & Science: Assuring the Integrity & Productivity of Research (Cambridge University Press, 2000) was awarded the 2002 Don K. Price Prize by the American Political Science Association for best book in science and technology policy. He has co-authored Informed Legislatures: Coping with Science in a Democracy (University Press of America, 1996), and he has co-edited The Fragile Contract: University Science & the Federal Government (MIT Press, 1994) and Shaping the Next Generation of Science & Technology Policy (University of Wisconsin Press, 2006). Guston has published over 30 articles and book chapters and made more than 90 research presentations on research and development policy, scientific integrity and responsibility, public participation in technical decision making, peer review, and the politics of science policy. He is the North American editor of the peer-reviewed journal Science & Public Policy and serves on the editorial boards of Nanoethics: The Ethics of Technologies that Converge at the Nanoscale, Review of Policy Research: The Politics & Policy of Science & Technology, and VEST: Nordic Journal of Science & Technology Studies. Guston has served on the National Science Foundation’s review panel on Societal Dimensions of Engineering, Science, and Technology (2000-2002) and on the National Academy of Engineering’s Steering Committee on Engineering Ethics and Society (2002). He has held visiting positions at Columbia University, the Copenhagen Business School, and the Kent School of Law. In 2002, he was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is co-chair of the upcoming 2008 Gordon Research Conference on Science and Technology Policy.