You are here

Organization Theory

Organization Theory

Published in Association with European Group for Organizational Studies

eISSN: 26317877 | ISSN: 26317877 | Current volume: 2 | Current issue: 4-6

Organization Theory (OT), published in collaboration with the European Group for Organizational Studies (EGOS), is a global, peer-reviewed, open-access journal that publishes the best theory and review work in the domain of organization and management studies.

Watch the Organization Theory launch video here.

Broad in Scope

OT publishes theory papers on different subjects within organization and management studies, including work within subject areas such as strategy, organizational behavior, work and employment relations, human resource management, international business, general management, public administration, entrepreneurship, creativity and innovation, ethics, and gender and diversity.

The journal offers a platform for theory development and theory-related discussions that significantly deepen our understanding of different subject areas; critiquing or deepening received views, and identifying significantly new ways of researching and understanding a particular subject.

OT is European at heart, but global in coverage and reach. The journal aims to cover and disclose to a broad audience the intellectual breadth of theoretical work on organizations and organizing that is carried out around the world.

Look to OT for the best theoretical work in each of these subject areas as well as for work that transcends the boundaries of particular subjects to speak to a broader audience.

A Range of Perspectives and Styles

OT is a multi-disciplinary journal, rooted in the social sciences, inspired by diversity and paradigmatic plurality, and open to commentary and debate.

Given this pluralistic ethos, papers can adopt different theory building styles and can be written up as research articles or perspective-taking essays, in both longer and shorter formats.

Besides regular articles, OT publishes review papers and a series of commissioned essays that speak to the bigger theoretical topics and debates in the field (see our Submission Guidelines for more details on these journal related features).

OT is an open access journal. Publication in the journal is free for authors as the article processing charge (APC) for accepted articles is waived by Sage and/or financed by EGOS.

Organization Theory aims to promote the understanding of organizations, organizing, and the organized in and between societies, through the publication of double-blind peer-reviewed, top quality theoretical papers.

Organization Theory publishes work in all areas of organization theory, including papers that develop new substantive theories or offer theoretical extensions, papers on the history and philosophy of management and organizational theory, meta-theoretical inquiries into the core underpinnings of existing theories, critiques of theories and theoretical developments, and theory-driven reviews of important areas of research.

As a theory journal, OT does not publish papers that draw on empirical data to make data-driven theoretical claims. Such empirical papers are published in Organization Studies – another journal under the auspices of the European Group for Organizational Studies (EGOS) – and authors are encouraged to submit their empirical manuscript to this journal.

Editor in Chief
Joep Cornelissen Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University, Netherlands
Consulting Editor
Markus Höllerer UNSW Sydney, Australia & WU Vienna, Austria
Associate Editors
Eva Boxenbaum CBS, Denmark
Penny Dick Sheffield University Management School, UK
Joel Gehman University of Alberta, Canada
Juliane Reinecke King's Business School, King's College London, UK
David Seidl University of Zurich, Switzerland
Managing Editor
Sophia Tzagaraki Managing Editor, Greece
Editorial Board
Ruth Aguilera Northeastern University, USA
Susan Ainsworth University of Melbourne, Australia
Rafael Alcadipani Sao Paolo School of Business Administration, Brazil
John Amis University of Edinburgh, UK
Stefan Arora-Jonsson Uppsala University, Sweden
Jean Bartunek Boston College, USA
Yvonne Benshop Nijmegen School of Management, Netherlands
Stephanie Bertels Simon Fraser University, Canada
Marya Besharov Cornell University, USA
Laure Cabantous The Business School (formerly Cass), UK
Robert Chia University of Glasgow, UK
Jean Clarke EM-Lyon, France
Jana Costas European University Viadrina, Germany
David Courpasson EM-Lyon, France
Andrew Crane University of Bath, UK
Leanne Cutcher The University of Sydney Business School, Australia
Barbara Czarniawska University of Gothenburg, Sweden
Tina Dacin Queen’s University, Canada
Elena Dalpiaz Imperial College London, UK
Rich de Jordy California State University, USA
Rick Delbridge Cardiff University, UK
Frank den Hond Hanken School of Economics, Netherlands
Paul du Gay Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Rodolphe Durand HEC Paris, France
Micki Eisenmann The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Martha Feldman Stanford University, USA
Pablo Fernandez IAE Business School, Argentina
Peer Fiss University of Southern California, USA
Peter Fleming University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
Mikkel Flyverbom Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Marianna Fotaki University of Warwick, UK
Santi Furnari The Business School (formerly Cass), UK
David Gault, Arellano Center for Research and Teaching in Economics, Mexico
Jean Pascal Gond Cass Business School, UK
Elizabeth Goodrick Florida Atlantic University, USA
Nina Granqvist Aalto University, Finland
Barbara Gray Penn State Smeal College of Business, USA
Royston Greenwood University of Alberta, Canada
Tor Hernes Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Robin Holt Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Jennifer Howard-Grenville University of Cambridge, UK
Gazi Islam Grenoble Ecole de Management, France
Dennis Jancsary WU Vienna, Austria
Maddy Janssens KU Leuven, Belgium
Candace Jones University of Edinburgh, UK
Martin Kornberger EM-Lyon, France
Ann Langley HEC Montréal, Canada
Mike Lounsbury University of Alberta, Canada
Johanna Mair Hertie School of Governance, Germany
Sally Maitlis University of Oxford, UK
Renate Meyer WU Vienna, Austria
Evelyn Micelotta University of New Mexico, USA
Mette Morsing Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Alistair Mutch Nottingham Business School, UK
Daniel Nyberg University of Newcastle, Australia
Nelson Phillips Imperial College London, UK
Rebecca Piekkari Aalto University, Finland
Davide Ravasi Cass Business School, UK
Trish Reay University of Alberta, Canada
Carl Rhodes University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
Linda Rouleau HEC Montréal, Canada
Marie-Laure Salles-Djelic Sciences Po, France
Majken Schultz Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Tal Simons RSM, The Netherlands
Roy Suddaby University of Victoria, Canada
Kathleen Sutcliffe Johns Hopkins University, USA
Silviya Svejenova Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Jacky Swan University of Warwick, UK
Paul Tracey Judge Business School, UK
Christine Trank Peabody College, Vanderbilt University, USA
Hari Tsoukas University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Eero Vaara Aalto University, Finland
Andrea Whittle Newcastle University
Patrizia Zanoni Hasselt University, Belgium
Tammar Zilber Jerusalem School of Business, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel